Today is Monday, August 21, 2017

Commission to oversee major purchases

  Email   Print

The Wilson Post

Wilson County Commission voted Monday night to stop any purchase over $10,000 without first going before a committee.

The motion was made by District 15 Commissioner Mike Justice, who explained that some line items currently going through were as expensive as a truck and that commissioners needed to get a handle on the situation.

We are trying to give our county employees a raise, but we cant do that because we have trouble handling the money that we have. I cant be expected to have control on a budget if I cant control the spending, he said. I am trying to take care of county employees as best as I can.

The motion was seconded by District 13 Commissioner Clint Thomas and passed with a vote of 17-5, with Commissioners Becky Siever, Billy Rowland, Eugene Murray, Wendell Marlow and Bernie Ash voting no and Commissioners Frank Bush, Adam Bannach and Paul Abercrombie absent.

Finance Director Aaron Maynard said that a few departments do not have a committee to go through. Commissioners decided that in those circumstances, the purchase would go through the Budget Committee.

Former Co. Executives recognized
Serving ones county is no minor feat. Each day, elected officials make heavy decisions that will impact the future of Wilson County and these individuals deserve to be recognized, and as such, individuals who have held the title of Chief Executive Officer in Wilson County were honored at the Monday night meeting of the County Commission.

A history of the position, researched by Wilson County Archives Director Linda Granstaff and historian Norma Walker, with excerpts from The History of Wilson County by Frank Burns, was shared at the meeting.

According to information, the role of Chief Executive Officer was first referred to as County Judge and created by a private legislative act in 1915. J.N. Adams was the first man to be appointed Wilson County Judge by the Wilson County Quarterly Court in 1915.

Following his death, the office was held by E.G. Walker until 1940. Samuel Gilreath and Turner S. Evans followed.

Three of the gentlemen who formerly served and are still living were invited to the front of the room to be recognized, including Don Simpson, who served from 1974 to 1994; Val Kelley, who served from 1994 and 1998; and Robert Dedman, who served from 1998 until 2010.

During Dedmans second term as County Executive, the title changed to County Mayor. Mayor Randall Hutto was elected to serve in the position in 2010 and is currently in the third year of his four-year-term.

The portraits will be placed on the first floor where they may be seen by the public.

Staff Writer Sabrina Garrett may be contacted at

Related Articles
Read more from:
General News
  Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: