Today is Saturday, August 19, 2017

District lines will change

  Email   Print

The Wilson County School System has five zones across the county and there are multiple county commissioners in each zone. The resolution states that only one squire from each school board zone may be on the committee.

“One from each zone gives the county a wide representation,” Hutto pointed out.

The commissioners are allowed to nominate a fellow commissioner from the same school zone that they represent. Each squire nominated must have a majority of votes from the commission as a whole to be on the committee.

Hutto said in addition to the five commission members of the committee, Phillip Warren, county election administrator, will be on the committee as well as someone from the county planning office.

The state Office of Local Government will also assist the committee in the process with training and the software that allows the committee members to actively see how changing a district’s size will affect the population within that district.

Hutto said the OLG is offering training courses on June 20-21 to help the committee better understand the procedures and software used in redistricting.

The Reapportionment Committee will also be responsible for redistricting school board zones and constable zones. The work must be completed by Jan. 1, 2012 so the state legislative districts can then be reapportioned.

“As soon as the committee is appointed on Monday night, they’ll meet and elect a chairman,” Hutto said.

The Ad Hoc Human Resources Committee has also narrowed a field of 36 applicants for county HR Director down to seven, with interviews to be carried out beginning June 21.

The application window was open from April 11 through May 11 for the position of HR Director. The one-person HR Department and the qualifications for the director’s position were approved by the commission on March 21.

“They’ve met two times and we’ll meet on the 21st to start interviewing,” Hutto said of the HR committee.

With only seven applicants remaining, Hutto said the committee has a set of questions prepared to ask each candidate for the job. He wasn’t sure when the interviewing process would be completed, but pointed out the director could start work as early as July 1.

“If we find our person on the first round, then we’ll make our selection,” Hutto said.

The process could extend to second interviews and narrowing the final seven down further if necessary. Hutto pointed out they have already cleared space in the Wilson County Courthouse’s third floor to hold the HR department’s office.

The final seven candidates are Harry Leidy, Brandon Brace, Terri Hudson, Jan Hallmark, Pamela Trent, Alanna Sullivan and Susan Marshal. All of the remaining applicants are from Wilson County and neighboring counties.

“We’re ready to hit the ground running,” Hutto said.

Staff Writer Patrick Hall may be contacted at

Related Articles
Read more from:
General News
  Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: