Today is Saturday, August 19, 2017

Early voting opens Oct. 15

  Email   Print

Early voting in the Federal and State General Election and Wilson County General Election began Wednesday, Oct. 15.

The three early voting locations include: the Wilson County Election Commission in Lebanon, Gladeville Community Center and Mt. Juliet Community Center. Each location will be open on weekdays from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. and on Saturdays from 8 a.m. to 1 p.m. through Oct. 30.

Voters do not need their voter cards in early voting, but are required to present a valid government-issued photo ID.

Voters will be asked to select one candidate for state governor. According to the sample ballot online at, incumbent Bill Haslam (R) faces challengers Charles V. Brown (D), Shaun Crowell (Constitution Party Nominee), Isa Infante (Green Party Nominee), Steven Damon Coburn (I), John Jay Hooker (I) and Daniel T. Lewis (I).

Voters will also be asked to vote "yes" or "no" on four Constitutional Amendment changes. The Wilson Post discussed last week what the change would be to Amendment 1. Amendment 1 asks voters if they are for or against adding language that would allow elected officials to decide on laws that would govern abortion. See sidebar for Amendment 2 explanation.

Voters will also see the United States Senate Race on their ballots. Incumbent Lamar Alexander (R) faces challengers Gordon Ball (D), Joe Wilmoth (Constitutional Party Nominee), Martin Pleasant (Green Party Nominee), Tom Emerson Jr. (I), Edmund Gauthier (I), Joshua James (I), Danny Page (I), Bartholomew J. Phillips (I), C. Salekin (I), Eric Schechter (I) and Rick Tyler (I).

In the U.S. House of Representatives 6th Congressional District Race incumbent Diane Black (R), faces Amos Scott Powers (D) and Mike Winton (I). Black has held the seat since 2010.

Tennessee State Senator for District 17 Mae Beavers (R) is unopposed.

In the Tennessee House of Representatives for the 46th District Race incumbent Mark Pody (R) faces Candace Reed (D). Pody was first elected to the seat in 2010, beating long-time incumbent Democrat Stratton Bone by a vote of 8,884 to 7,860. It is Reed's first time running. She has been an educator in Wilson County for eight years.

Incumbent Susan Lynn (R) will face Jesse McLevain (D) in the District 67 race for Tennessee House of Representatives.

Lebanon residents will have the opportunity to vote in the City of Lebanon Alderman races for Wards 3, 4 and 6. There are no term limits for council members.

Ward 3 Alderman Rob Cesternino, who was elected in 2010, is running unopposed for the spot. Cesternino said during an Oct. 2 Debate hosted by the Lebanon-Wilson Chamber of Commerce that this will be his second and final term to serve.

Ward 4 incumbent Joe Hayes will face former Wilson County Commissioner Bernie Ash, Ken Brown and Rick Hallum.

Ward 6 incumbent Kathy Warmath will face challenger Dan Jandura. Warmath was first appointed to the seat in 1992.

Mt. Juliet residents will be able to vote in District 2 and 4 Commissioner races. District 2 Commissioner James Maness is unopposed. District 4 incumbent Jim Bradshaw will face Brian Abston.

Candidates for City of Watertown Alderman are Kristie Bayse Cantrell and Brandon Howard.

Staff Writer Sabrina Garrett may be contacted at

Related Articles
Read more from:
General News
  Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: