Today is Tuesday, August 22, 2017

GOLF -- CU has two make All-MSC

  Email   Print
Zach Polston & Garrett Daniel

Daniel and Polston -
BOWLING GREEN, Ky. - Cumberland's Garrett Daniel and Zach Polston were named First Team All-Mid-South Conference, as announced by the league office at the conclusion of last week's conference tournament in Bowling Green, Ky.

All-Mid-South Conference honors take into account all seven rounds in MSC events during the academic year, including the fall and spring invitational tournaments and the conference championships. The two lowest scores are thrown out in determining all-conference accolades.

Daniel placed third at the Mid-South Conference Championships last week, posting the low round of the tournament with a six-under 66 in the second round. The Linden native finished fifth at the MSC Fall Invitational in Mt. Juliet and tied for 22nd at the MSC Spring Invitational in London, Ky.

Polston tied for seventh at the conference tournament and tied for sixth at the MSC Spring Invitational. The Lafayette native tied for 16th at the MSC Fall Invitational. He was a Second Team All-MSC selection last season for the Phoenix.

Cumberland erased a nine-shot deficit on the final day of the conference tournament to win the event by one stroke, earning an automatic bid in the NAIA Championships set for May 16-19 at TPC Deere Run in Silvis, Ill.

First Team All-Mid-South Conference
Garrett Daniel, Cumberland University
James Higgins, Campbellsville University
Ben Kendrick, University of the Cumberlands
Rasmus Lind, Lindsey Wilson
Federico Navarro, Lindsey Wilson
Zach Polston, Cumberland University
Justin Warman, Campbellsville University

Second Team All-Mid-South Conference
Dagan Abdon, Shawnee State
Alex Durham, Lindsey Wilson
Kaleb Lester, Georgetown College
Roger Maynard, University of Pikeville
Kevin McCracken, University of the Cumberlands
Justin Riffle, Campbellsville University
Drake Stepter, Georgetown College

Player of the Year: Ben Kendrick, University of the Cumberlands
Freshman of the Year: Rasmus Lind, Lindsey Wilson
Coach of the Year: Eric Wyrick, Lindsey Wilson
Champions of Character: Connor Davis, Georgetown College

Related Articles
Read more from:
General Sports
Cumberland University golf, Garrett Daniel, Zach Polston
  Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: