Today is Saturday, August 19, 2017

Gomez, Hall and Hunt grab MSC individual awards

  Email   Print

Gomezs ERA ranks third in the NAIA while his 10 wins are tied for fourth most nationally.

Alonso led the Mid-South during the regular season in batting average (.430), hits (77) and hits per game (1.51). He finished third in the conference in both RBIs (45) and on-base percentage (.502).

Nationally, Alonso ranked third in hits and ninth in batting average.

Hall finished second behind Alonso in hitting this season at .406. He led the MSC in 2013 with a .533 on-base percentage and ranked fifth in runs scored.

Suydam earned the conference's Champions of Character award -- as voted on by the conference athletics director -- based on his academic and athletic achievement, campus and community leadership, future ambition and a demonstration of five core character values of the NAIA.

Cumberland coach Woody Hunt grabbed the final individual honor of the evening. Hunt was voted by his peers as the MSC Baseball Coach of the Year after leading the Bulldogs to the regular season title and the top seed in the tournament.

Seventeen players earned first-team all-conference while another 17 were named to the conferences second team.

The player of the year, pitcher of the year, freshman of the year and all-conference selections are voted on by the coaches. Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own players.

Nine individuals were named to the conferences gold glove team. The team was selected based on fielding percentage throughout the season at each position.

Cumberland's MSC Baseball First Team honorees include: SS Cory Urquhart, 1b Craig Monson, OF Chris Hall and P Anthony Gomez.

Third baseman Tyler Anderson joined Urquhart, Monson and Hall on the MSC Golden Glove team.

The Mid-South Conference Baseball Tournament begins on Thursday at Hunter Wright Stadium in Kingsport, Tenn.

Top-seeded Cumberland meets eighth-seeded Shawnee State in the opener at 9 a.m. CT.

No. 4-seed Campbellsville meets fifth-seeded Rio Grande at 12 Noon followed by third-seeded Lindsey Wilson and No. 6-seed Cumberlands at 3 p.m. CT.

The nightcap features second-seeded Georgetown against No. 7-seed St. Catharine at 6 p.m. CT. The tournament continues through Sunday, April 28.

Related Articles
Read more from:
General Sports
  Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: