Today is Sunday, August 20, 2017

Illias, Post win 2014 Sherry's Run

  Email   Print
Hope Illias

Hope Illias repeats as women's champion
Trimming some 20 seconds off her 2013 winning effort, 10 year-old Hope Illias repeated as the 2014 women's division champion of the 11th annual Sherry's Run 5K.

A fifth grader at Friendship Christian School, Illias clocked a time of 19:45 Saturday over freshly paved course, best among the 242 women competing for the crown.

Former Cumberland University pitcher Robert Post was the official winner of the men's division, finishing the course in a time of 17:26. A 28 year-old from Mt. Juliet, Post was a member of CU's 2010 NAIA National Championship team.

Unofficially, Friendship Christian cross-country athlete Tyler Alverson, 17, was the first person to cross the finish line. A junior at FCS, Alverson ran the course in a time of 17:13, but due to TSSAA regulations was ineligible to compete for a plaque / ribbon in an event not sanctioned by the state high school athletic association.

Here's the rest of the top five overall in the women's division.

2nd: Ashleigh Dane, 30, of Nashville 20:34.
3rd: Ashlee Chance, 39, of Lebanon 21:51.
4th: Emily Jones, 14, of Lebanon 22:07.
5th: Brooke Groff, 18, of Gallatin 22:42.

Here's the rest of the top five overall in the men's division.

2nd: William A. Bentley, 21, of Lebanon 18:03.
3rd: Daniel Stewart, 15 of Mt. Juliet 18:08. Stewart was the 40 & Over Male Masters winner.
4th: Josh Erhard, 22, of Gallatin 18:08.
5th: Craig Stewart, 43, of Mt. Juliet 18:41.

Lebanon's Jenessa Reasonover, 41, ran a 23:37 to claim first place in the Female Masters 40 & Over division.

Related Articles
Read more from:
General Sports
  Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: