Today is Monday, July 24, 2017

Judicial Selection panel visits Lebanon Tuesday

  Email   Print


Members of the Tennessee Judicial Selection Commission are to be in Lebanon on Tuesday, Feb. 10 to interview candidates for the vacant Criminal Court judge’s position.

The Commission will meet at 8:30 a.m., Tuesday, in the Criminal Courtroom at the John W. Musice Judicial Building, 115 E. High Street.

The seat to be filled was left vacant by the death in December of Judge J.O. Bond who suffered a stroke. He had been re-elected to serve another eight-year term on the bench in 2006.

Candidates for the position are two assistant district attorneys in the office of District Attorney Tommy Thompson. They are Deputy District Attorney David Durham and Assistant District Attorney Bobby Hibbett. Brody Kane, an attorney in private practice with McBrien & Kane law firm, is also a candidate for the position. Jennifer Pappas, administrative assistant in the Administrative Office of the Courts, said the meeting will begin with a public hearing during which time each of the candidates for the position can have three people speak on their behalf. Then the Commission will open the meeting to comments from the general public and other attorneys who may offer nominations for the position as well.

Once public comments have ended, she said, “The Commission will meet and interview each one separately.”

The panel will then meet privately and must send three names to Gov. Phil Bredesen who will choose the new judge. Of course, since three people have applied, all three names will be forwarded to the governor.

There is no deadline for Bredesen to name a new judge, Pappas said, and he can reject all three candidates if he chooses.

Members of the panel which will choose the next judge are Chairman Ronald J. Berke, Esquire; Vice Chair C. Thomas Davenport Jr., Esq.; Secretary Myrlene Marsa, Esq.; Anne Banks, non-lawyer member; Michelle M. Benjamin, Esq.; C. Phillip Bivens, Esq.; T. Michael Bottoms, Esq.; Hulet Chaney, non-lawyer member; William H. Farmer, Esq. (of Nashville); Jack P. Green, Esq.; Edward L. Martindale Jr.; Randall E. Nichols, Esq.; Pamela L. Reeves, Esq.; John R. Tarpley, Esq.; Dale H. Tuttle, Esq.; C. Barry Ward, Esq.; and Kelly Wolfe, non-lawyer member.

For more information, visit online at or call 741-2687.

Editor Jennifer Horton may be contacted at

Related Articles
Read more from:
General News
  Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: