Today is Saturday, August 19, 2017

Linebacker earns CU academic award

  Email   Print
Donnie Suber, Nathan Jernigan & Ron Pavan

Senior Nathan Jernigan honored --
Cumberland University's Nathan Jernigan was voted the 2016-17 recipient of the Lindsey Donnell Award April 20, presented annually to a Phoenix student-athlete who excels in both academics and athletics.

The award is given in honor of Lindsey Donnell, a former Phoenix football Little All-American and former professor at Cumberland University.

The Eagleville native was a three-time First Team All-Mid-South Conference West selection and earned Second Team honors as a freshman.

He was voted MSC West Defensive Player of the Year each of the last two seasons and earned Second Team All-America accolades as a senior from the American Football Coaches Association.

The linebacker was also named MSC West Defensive Freshman of the Year.

In addition, Jernigan graduated with his bachelor's in Management and is currently working on his master's in Business Administration.

He was a three-time Academic All-Mid-South Conference selection, was twice named a Daktronics-NAIA Scholar-Athlete and earned Academic All-America honors as a junior.

Jernigan posted 66 tackles with eight tackles for loss and four interceptions as a freshman and followed that with 99 stops, including eight tackles for loss and 3.5 sacks, as a sophomore.

He registered 104 tackles with 4.0 tackles for loss as a junior and ended the 2016 season with 105 stops, including 11.0 tackles for loss and 4.0 sacks.

His career included 374 tackles, 31.0 tackles for loss, 10.0 sacks, 14 pass breakups and four interceptions.

Donnell set a national collegiate football record in 1936 with 1,500 rushing yards, a single-season record that stood until the 1960s.

He graduated from Cumberland in 1936 and returned to teach English from 1960-62.

The former Cumberland football stadium, now used for soccer, is named in his honor.

Former Lindsey Donnell Award recipients include:
1982 - John Britt
1983 - Doug Taulbue
1984 - Nicole Neal
1985 - John Hunn
1986 - John Hunn/ Nicole Neal
1987 - John Hunn
1988 - Jon Franklin
1989 - John White
1990 - Beverly Burton
1991 - Becky King
1992 - Diane Petzoldt
1993 - Ginger Carrigan / Lorie Hammock
1994 - Pat McEnroe
1995 - Jenny Rippetoe
1996 - Dana Leath
1997 - Jill Taylor Simmons
1998 - Tara Daniel
1999 - Jody Atwood
2000 - Rita Maynard
2001 - Alice King
2002 - Carissa Chitwood
2003 - Michael Navratil
2004 - Amy Biddle
2005 - Jennifer Griffey Hayes
2006 - Jennifer Griffey Hayes
2007 - Kurt Braundmeier
2008 - Josh Beasley
2009 - Matt Eads
2010 - Susan Simpson
2011 - Josh Smith
2012 - Ben Miller
2013 - Allison Blackwood
2014 - Zeke Hunt
2015 - Keaton Gaffney
2016 - Chelsey Hall

Related Articles
Read more from:
General Sports
222-0, Cumberland University football, Eagleville High football, Lindsey Donnell, Lindsey Donnell Award, Lindsey Donnell Stadium, Nathan Jernigan, Phoenix football, Ron Pavan
  Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: