Today is Monday, June 26, 2017

Miss Basketball finalists announced

  Email   Print


HERMITAGE -- The Miss Basketball Awards will be presented to the top girls and boys in various classifications of the Tennessee Secondary School Athletic Association prior to the championship game awards presentation for each class, respectively.

A statewide committee of sportswriters selected winners based on performance during the 2008-2009 regular season. Academics and character were also taken into consideration. High school head basketball coaches and members of the media nominated the finalists.

The presentation of the Miss Basketball Awards for Division I, Classes A, AA, and AAA will be given during each championship awards ceremony for each class on Saturday, March 14 at the Murphy Center on the campus of Middle Tennessee State University.

Wilson Central High’s Jasmine Hassell, who won the award in 2008, is again one of the three finalists in the Class AAA division.

She is joined by Taylor Hall of Morristown-West and Jasmine James of Bartlett. Both Hassell and Bartlett have signed with the University of Georgia.

Class A Miss Basketball finalists include: Kayla Christopher of Oliver Springs; Andrea Hobson of McEwen and Laken Leonard of Jackson County.

Class AA Miss Basketball finalists include: Lashay Davis of Upperman; Chassidy Fussell of Obion County and Lauren March of Marshall County.

Related Articles
Read more from:
General Sports
  Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: