Today is Friday, August 18, 2017

New school board districts approved

  Email   Print

Editor's note: This map depicts the reappropriation of the school board districts, not individual school districts or which school students are zoned. This is the result of the Wilson County Commission voting to expand the Wilson County Schools Board of Education from five members to seven.

From five have come seven --

The redistricting of Wilson County School Board seats has been accomplished with the County Commission's unanimous approval Monday, Jan. 26 of the new districts that were recommended to the commission by the Education Committee chaired by District 20 Commissioner Annette Stafford.

Voters in last August's election approved the expansion in a special referendum, which in turn was authorized by a "private bill" (affecting only this county) passed by the Tennessee legislature last April.

Now the new seven-district map has been approved by commissioners, it will go onto the state where it will require final approval before it can go into effect, Stafford said.

The first election that will be held using the seven new districts will take place in August 2016.

The newly elected members will take their seats that September, with one serving a four-year term and the other serving two years. Until then, the current five-member school board will continue to represent the existing five districts.

Writer Connie Esh may be contacted at

Related Articles
Read more from:
General News
Annette Stafford, county commission, school board, Wilson County Schools
  Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: