Today is Wednesday, June 28, 2017

Property taxes due Friday

  Email   Print

If you have not paid your county property taxes for 2013 – you know who you are – today is the deadline to do so without penalty.

If you would like to pay your taxes in person, you may do so by visiting Wilson County Trustee Jim Major’s office at the Wilson County Courthouse between the hours of 8 a.m. to 4 p.m., said Kay Dodd, bookkeeper.

Can’t make it to the office? You can also drop your payment in the mail. “As long as they get it postmarked (with the Feb. 28 date on it), we will honor it,” Dodd said. She added there was also a slot in the door at the Trustee’s Office where payments may be left.

If you mail your payment, or drop it in the slot in the door, Dodd said you will in turn be mailed a receipt.

If you cannot make it to the office by 4 p.m., Friday, and if you cannot mail it today, then you will face a penalty of 1.5 percent each month on the unpaid balance of your property taxes, she noted. If you have questions, call the office at 444-0894.

Wilson County’s tax rate is $2.57 per $100 of assessed value.

If 100 percent of the county property taxes were paid, that would result in $79,851,000, Dodd said. She noted that as of Thursday, the county had collected $68,437,066.90, or 86 percent of the total.    

If you reside in the City of Lebanon, you may pay your city property taxes at Lebanon City Hall at 200 North Castle Heights Ave., from 7:30 a.m. until 4:30 p.m. Lebanon’s tax rate is 60 cents per $100 of assessed value.

If you own property in the Lebanon Special School District, which includes most of Lebanon and some areas in the county – LSSD’s boundaries do not follow the city limits and are set by the set by the state legislature – you will pay 39 cents per $100 of assessed value. If you have questions, call Lebanon City Hall at 443-2839.

Property owners in the City of Mt. Juliet may pay their city taxes at Mt. Juliet City Hall at 2365 N. Mt. Juliet Road, from 7 a.m. until 5 p.m. Mt. Juliet’s tax rate is 20 cents per $100 of assessed value. For more information, call 754-2552.

City taxpayers in Watertown may pay them at Watertown City Hall at 8630 Sparta Pike, from 7:30 a.m. until 4 p.m. The tax rate in Watertown is 95 cents per $100 of assessed value. For more information, call 237-3376.

Dodd said the top taxpayers in Wilson County for 2013 are as follows:

  1. Middle Tennessee Electric Membership Corporation -- $1,219,657

  2. Nashville SuperSpeedway -- $979,069

  3. Lebanon HMA (University Medical Center) -- $482,829

  4. Providence Retail -- $372,934

  5. Lochinvar -- $365,629

  6. Deerfield at Providence -- $271,110

  7. Tennessee Service Corporation -- $262,216

  8. Beckwith Farms -- $255,926

  9. Whiterock 445 Couchville 401 The West Mall -- $255,337

  10. Redus TN-All LLC -- $238,780

  11. First Industrial Investment -- $233,550 

Editor Jennifer Horton may be contacted at

Related Articles
Read more from:
General News
deadline, property taxes
  Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: