Today is Tuesday, August 22, 2017

Teacher of Year Banquet planned

  Email   Print

Organizers of the annual Wilson County Teacher of the Year program have announced the nominees for Wilson County Teacher of the Year.

The winner will be honored at the 12th Annual Teacher of the Year banquet and ceremony on Friday, April 16, in Baird Chapel on the campus of Cumberland University.

The Teacher of the Year program began almost 15 years ago under the direction of W.P. Bone III, owner of Wilson County Chevrolet-Buick, and Bob McDonald, president of CedarStone Bank.

"Education is the most important factor in the success of a community," Bone said. "It is fitting that we recognize and congratulate those professionals to whom we entrust the futures of our children."

Each of the 28 schools in Wilson County nominates and elects its own "teacher of the year" from its faculty; nominees are chosen by their peers. Those 28 teachers then complete self-evaluation packets, providing the information for the final judging. Past winners of the award meet with those nominees and go over the criteria processing materials, which have proven to be a great learning experience for all those involved. An anonymous panel of Cumberland University faculty members then selects the Wilson County Teacher of the Year.

Many people play an important role in making the program successful, including members of business and government, school principals, school administrators and the Chambers of Commerce from Lebanon, Mt. Juliet and Watertown. Community leaders throughout the area are on hand during the awards banquet to show their support and gratitude.

"We are very proud of this program as it recognizes educators in our community that go above and beyond their call of duty,” McDonald said, "and we at CedarStone Bank are proud to be a part of it. It is wonderful to see our teachers be acknowledged and rewarded for the fine job they do."

The winner will receive a $1,500 cash prize and their school will net another $500 for their efforts.

Listed below are the 28 nominees for the 2010 Wilson County Teacher of the Year:

Amanda Smith    Byars-Dowdy Elementary SchoolLori Maasen        Carroll-Oakland Elementary SchoolDebbie Vaughn   Castle Heights Upper Elementary SchoolMary Elmore        Coles Ferry Elementary SchoolMegan Hamilton  Elzie D. Patton Elementary SchoolGreg Armstrong   Friendship Christian SchoolKris Davis           Gladeville Elementary SchoolTracy Maness      Lakeview Elementary SchoolMary Ashby         Lebanon High SchoolShaun Caven      MAP AcademyDonna C. Macon  McClain Christian AcademyDana Spence       Mt. Juliet Christian AcademySuzanne McPeak  Mt. Juliet Elementary SchoolLori Scott             Mt. Juliet High SchoolJim Speck           Mt. Juliet Middle SchoolCarie Laster        Rutland Elementary SchoolAndrea Lea         Sam Houston Elementary SchoolJane LaFevers     Southside Elementary SchoolJessica Moses     Stoner Creek Elementary SchoolRamona Wright   Tuckers Crossroads Elementary SchoolLaurie Drummond W.A. Wright Elementary SchoolCarol Ann Smith  Walter J. Baird Middle SchoolVickie See           Watertown Elementary SchoolBrandy Faye Baird Watertown High SchoolCindy Reavis       West Elementary SchoolMalinda Hirschmann West Wilson Middle SchoolTerry Campbell    Wilson Central High SchoolLindsay McQuirt   Wilson County Vocational Center

Related Articles
Read more from:
General News
  Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: