Today is Tuesday, August 22, 2017

TN sets early voting record; polls open from 7-7

  Email   Print

Tennessee voters set a state record for the number of ballots cast in the state Primary Election and County General Elections.

Locally, 1,760 more votes were cast during early voting this year than in the same election in 2010, according to Wilson County Administrator of Elections Phillip Warren.

Still, Warren hopes voters will turn out tomorrow from 7 a.m.-7p.m. to vote on Election Day.

“We will have a dedicated call center set up just like we did in 2012 for people to call and ask questions, such as, ‘Which precinct am I in?’ and ‘Where do I vote?” Warren said, adding that the number to call is 615-444-0216.

“This frees up the rest of the staff to handle other issues that may arise. It was utilized a lot in 2012, and I expect it to be the same tomorrow.”

According to an article in The Tennessean, data from the Secretary of State’s office showed that more than 550,000 ballots were cast from July 18-Aug. 2, when early voting ended.

In Wilson County, 11,686 ballots were cast during early voting, with 8,643 picking up Republican ballots, while 2,502 requested a Democratic ballot and 541 voted on the General Only ballot.

Of that total, 250 were absentee ballots received by Election Commission.

The only contested race at the state level in Wilson County is the District 17 Senate Republican primary race between incumbent Mae Beavers and challenger Clark Boyd.

The 17th District includes Wilson, Cannon, Clay, DeKalb, Macon and Smith counties. Early turnout for the other four counties in the District were:

  • Cannon – 1,834 total, with 875 Republican ballots and 454 Democrat ballots
  • Clay – 1,669 total, with 644 Republican ballots and 375 Democrat ballots
  • DeKalb – 2,399 total, with 866 Republican ballots and 706 Democrat ballots
  • Macon – 3,970 total, with 2,361 Republican ballots and 422 Democrat ballots


Contested races in the 15th Judicial Circuit – which includes Wilson, Jackson, Macon, Smith and Trousdale counties – are for:

Circuit Court Judge Division II between incumbent John D. Wootten Jr. and Aubrey T. Givens

Chancellor between incumbent C.K. Smith and Gordon Aulgur

Criminal Court Judge between Brian Fuller and Body Kane, both vying for the seat currently held by Judge David Durham who is retiring Sept. 1


Early voting for the other four counties in the 15th Judicial Circuit were:

  • Jackson – 1,615 total, with 589 Republican ballots and 544 Democrat ballots
  • Macon – 3,970 total, with 2,361 Republican ballots and 422 Democrat ballots
  • Smith – 3,184 total, with 1,675 Republican ballots and 1,316 Democrat ballots
  • Trousdale – 1,678 total, with 576 Republican ballots and 521 Democrat ballots

At the local level, all 25 county commission seats, three school board races and all constitutional offices – expect Property Assessor which is elected in presidential election years – are up for election.

In addition, two local referendums are on the ballot: one to raise the sales tax in Wilson County by a half-cent and the other to increase the Wilson County Board of Education from five members to seven members.

According to a Wilson County Election Commission report breaking down the early votes by precinct, Precinct 23-1, which is at Lebanon High School, had the highest percentage of eligible voters turn out during early voting at 24.5 percent.

The second highest percentage of early voters came from the District 17-1 precinct, which is at Maple Hill church of Christ, at 23.9 percent.

Third was at Precinct 9-1 at the Watertown Community Center at 21.1 percent, followed by Precinct 7-1 at Shop Springs Baptist Church at 20.3 percent and Precinct 21-2 at the Wilson County Fairgrounds at 19.6 percent.

Polls open at 7 a.m. tomorrow morning and close at 7 p.m. Results will be posted as they come in on The Wilson Post’s website at

Amelia Morrison Hipps is a correspondent for The Wilson Post. She may be reached at

Related Articles
Read more from:
General News
early voting, Election Day, Wilson County Election Commission
  Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: