Today is Monday, August 21, 2017

TSWA honors CU's Alexander

  Email   Print


From Post staff reports
HERMITAGE -- Cumberland’s Dewayne Alexander received the Tennessee Sportswriters Association Football Coach of the Year award Friday during the TSWA’s annual business meeting and luncheon at the TSSAA headquarters.

Alexander, along with coaches Kevin McMillan (UT Martin women's basketball) and Mark Campbell (Union University men's basketball) and quarterback Bo Cordell (Tusculum College), were all on hand to receive awards for Coach or Player of the Year in their respective sports. Belmont University’s Rick Byrd, Vanderbilt University’s John Jenkins and Tennessee’s Shekinna Stricklen also garnered awards for the 2010-11 academic year.

Cumberland posted an 8-3 record in 2010, the third eight-win campaign since the program was revived in 1990 and first since 1996. Alexander was also named NAIA Region I Coach of the Year.

Cumberland players report to campus Friday, August 5 and practice begins August 8 for the Bulldogs, who open the season at Lindsey Wilson (September 3) and Campbellsville University (Sept. 10) before beginning the home slate on Sept. 17 against Kentucky Christian.

Related Articles
Read more from:
General Sports
  Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: