Today is Sunday, August 20, 2017

Wilson County Agricultural Hall of Fame inductees named

  Email   Print

Ten years ago, a group of concerned Wilson Countians came together to form the Wilson County Agricultural Hall of Fame. Agriculture has been a cornerstone of Wilson County from the day it was formed in 1799 and, to recognize the contributions of those involved in agriculture in the community, the Wilson County Agricultural Hall of Fame was organized.

Each year, several Wilson Countians are recognized at a banquet designed to bring attention to agriculture's prominent place in the county. The Wilson County Agricultural Hall of Fame Banquet will take place on Tuesday, April 5 at 6 p.m. at the Ward Agricultural Center in Lebanon. Due to construction work on the new Wilson County Expo Center, attendees are reminded to use the Tennessee Boulevard entrance. Area Future Farmers of America and 4-H members will serve as ushers for the evening.

Plans are in place to recognize the following individuals as the 10th annual class of inductees into the hall of fame: Louis Fletcher, Kenneth Neal, William L. "Bill" Patton and William Dean & Nelda Thompson.

"The purpose of the Wilson County Agricultural Hall of Fame is to recognize citizens of Wilson County who have made a significant impact on agriculture in Wilson County, Tennessee, nationally or worldwide," Chairman of the Wilson County Agricultural Hall of Fame Hale Moss said. "We felt the time was right to pay tribute to these very deserving individuals. Each has made significant contributions to Wilson County agriculture, as well as Wilson County in general."

Other members of the hall of fame board of directors are Ben Powell, vice chairman; Keith Harrison, secretary; Diane Major, treasurer; Ruth Correll and Jeffrey Turner. The organizers have established a non-profit status for the organization to enable them to raise money to be used for the establishment of a building on the Ward Agricultural Center grounds to be dedicated to the individuals inducted into the hall of fame.

"Any funds raised over and above the costs of putting on the annual banquet will be set aside for the building," Major noted.

Tickets for the banquet can be purchased from Major by calling (615) 444-1890, ext. 3. Tickets are $15 each. Jordan's Catering will provide the meal for the evening. Area businesses interested in sponsorship opportunities should also contact Major.

"We want the entire agricultural community in our county to come together to recognize these deserving individuals on April 5," Moss added. "We owe these folks a great deal of gratitude for everything they have done for agriculture. We hope our community will come together and join in our 10th annual celebration.

To learn more about the hall of fame, visit

Related Articles
Read more from:
General News
ag, agriculture, awarded, hall of fame, honored, James E. Ward Ag Center, Wilson County, Wilson County Fairgrounds
  Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: