Today is Wednesday, August 16, 2017

Wood, Taylor are Mr. Football finalists

  Email   Print
Andrew Wood, Coach John McNeal & Andrew Taylor

FCS seniors recognized at luncheon
MURFREESBORO -- Two Friendship Christian School seniors were among 33 high school football players recognized Monday, Dec. 1 during the annual Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Awards luncheon hosted by the Tennessee Titans.

Offensive lineman Andrew Wood and halfback / lineman Austin Taylor were finalists for the Mr. Football Lineman and Mr. Football Back awards in Division II, Class A.

The lineman award went to Brant Mitchell of the Webb School, Knoxville while the back award went to Clay Beathard of Battle Ground Academy.

"I'm proud of them being honored as finalists," said FCS head coach John McNeal. "I guess I'm a little prejudiced because I feel like either one of them could have won it with plenty of justification.

"I'm also proud of the work they've done off the field as well. Andrew and A.T. are two of the best students in our school. Their academics are top-notch, which says a lot about the effort they've put forward at Friendship."

Approximately 600 people, including the honorees, their families, coaches, school administrators and members of the media from all parts of the state, attended the 2014 luncheon at the Embassy Suites Hotel & Conference Center.

"This is such an outstanding honor for all 33 of the young men recognized today at the Tennessee Titans Mr. Football Awards," said Bernard Childress, Executive Director of the TSSAA.

"They were here not only due to their athletic ability that they displayed on the field throughout the season, but just as much for their outstanding character and academic achievements."

High school head coaches and members of the media nominated the finalists. A committee of statewide sports writers selected winners based on performance in the 2014 regular season. Academics and character were also taken into consideration.

The awards were presented to the top back and lineman in each of the five classifications of the Tennessee Secondary Schools Athletic Association. The top kickers in the state were also recognized. There were three finalists in this category, regardless of their school's classification.

The Titans became sponsors of the Mr. Football Awards in 2007.

2014 award winners included:
Division I, Class A Lineman: Zach Stewart, Coalfield
Division I, Class A Back: Kyle Akin, Trinity Christian Academy

Division I, Class AA Lineman: Parker Howell, CPA
Division I, Class AA Back: Ke'Shawn Vaughn, Pearl-Cohn

Division I, Class AAA Lineman: Jack Jones, Oakland
Division I, Class AAA Back: Jauan Jennings, Blackman

Division II-A Lineman: Brant Mitchell, Knoxville Webb
Division II-A Back: Clay Beathard, BGA

Division II-AA Lineman: Drew Richmond, MUS
Division II-AA Back: Cole Euverard, MBA

Kicker of the Year: Laszlo Toser, Ooltewah

Related Articles
Read more from:
General Sports
  Email   Print
Powered by Bondware
News Publishing Software

The browser you are using is outdated!

You may not be getting all you can out of your browsing experience
and may be open to security risks!

Consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser or choose on below: